National Champions Galore!

nationals

This was a VERY busy week but I am one extremely proud coach! On Tuesday morning my team and I traveled all the way to Novi Michigan for one of the biggest competitions of the year, the Junior Olympic Games. For many of my athletes this was their first year competing and first national competition. We went in with hopes of a good outcome and boy did my babies deliver!

The competition consists of 9 levels each with the possibility of making top 10 during prelims and advancing on to finals. Not only did EVERY kid advance to finals but every kid made top 5 in their individual divisions! Day one of finals started today and they did phenomenally. Out of the 21 kids, we are taking home 7 gold medals, 6 Silver, and 8 Bronze!

When I started coaching this sport 2 years ago I had no idea that I would fall in love with it. The staff are great and the kids work extremely hard and love and support each and every one of their teammates. Any obstacle, these kids pushed through. All of the blood sweat and tears that have gone into this season (literally ) has finally paid off. With 21 medals and 9 team trophies today I cannot wait to see what the final day consists of tomorrow for the rest of the kids and how far they will all go in the next few years.

To find out more about the event, and sport it self, click here.

Author: erikaashley14

My name is Erika Edwards and I am a Junior at SIUE studying Business Management and Communications. I chose the two focus areas with hopes to later become a Residential Real Estate Agent and house flipper. Most of my free time I spend at the gym I work at as a USTA power tumbling Coach and I wouldn't change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

